The New Yorker 9/28

The first thing that I noticed about the New Yorker was the cover. I find the cover very intriguing because it combines both the past- with old cards, horses, and other mobiles- and the future- with flying cars. I also find it interesting they are traveling to a museum. Like the previous issue, I started with the comics, and my particular favorite one is on page 44. It is done in an awesome way with mostly dots rather than strokes and the punch line to the “party” setting reads, “Yes, living well is the best revenge, but right now I’d settle just for doing better than my brother-in-law.” I found it very creative and funny. Another comic that I found funny was on page 51. It takes place in a court room and the line is, “Ladies and gentlemen of the jury duty..” which displays people do not choose to be on the jury rather it is their civic duty and this lawyer acknowledges that in a creative way. I also saw the ad for the New Yorker Festival on the 16th 17th and 18th of OCtober. The picture of the skyline resembles the one from the previous issue which i found very fun and creative- it looks like it would be a good time.

One Response to “The New Yorker 9/28”

  1. I didn’t really look at the cover too much so I enjoyed Gus’s analysis of the painting. I like the fact that, unlike in other magazines, the New Yorker doesn’t put headlines or previews of what’s inside the magazine on the cover. This makes the cover artwork a statement in itself, and Gus’s interest in it made me give it a second look that I now appreciate. I also saw the “jury duty” comic and it made me laugh; I’m glad someone else liked it.

Leave a comment